Heteronormativity

I live in the Bible-belt. This may come as a shock considering the way in which I talk or in this case write.

But I do and here people are very close minded. The Baptists think they are better than everyone else, they make fun of Catholics or anyone who believes in Baptism. They call it “getting sprinkled” and they think that anyone who believes in this is insane.

It isn’t just the Baptists though. There are Episcopalian, Seventh Day Adventist, Catholic, and so much more. There are so many different religions and religious beliefs, but a lot of people around here are very by the book.

I minimize myself and my personality. I don’t wear any rainbow things. I don’t use pronouns when referring to people who I find attractive, and I act a lot more femme than I actually am. This is all because I am not heterosexual. I am a lesbian and I am open about it. I do not like to wear dresses or jewelry. I might wear makeup but that doesn’t make me a girly girl.

I have been asked by the kids who I babysit if I am a tom boy. I respond when “something like that”. I respond in this way because I believe that I could quite easily lose my job if I were to say “I like girls”.

Many people raise their children with the belief that they will grow up to marry the opposite sex. I was raised in a home that heteronormatized but I’m still homosexual. I am lucky enough to have a loving family who accepts me for who I am, but this doesn’t mean that others do as well.

I have a friend who wasn’t as fortunate when it came to acceptance from his family. I have another friend who is probably always going to be in the closet because her family is homophobic. These cases make me realize just how truly lucky I am to have a loving and accepting family.

But my family system doesn’t matter because that isn’t why I am writing this. I am writing this because there are a lot of people out there who can and will hurt or hate on people because of who they are or who they love and I don’t agree with that, nor will I ever agree with that. I don’t judge people based upon their sexuality or their gender identity. I judge people based upon how they treat me and those who I love and care about. I don’t care whether you are bi, pan, gay, asexual or straight (sorry if I forgot one). I just care that you are a good person and that you don’t treat others badly.

I just want everyone who has taken the time to read this article to know that I am here. I am here and I am not going anywhere. I don’t want you to feel like you don’t have a voice. You do. And if you are scared to give voice to your feelings or opinions, I will do so for you if you allow me to. If you will message me or comment what you think should be talked about more or what you would like me to talk about, I will try my best to do so.

I have seen people stay silent about hwo they are and it isn’t good. If you want to write something and have me post it I can. I just want everyone to know that they are loved and cared for. I am here for you if you need someone to be. I will be a friend or even just a listening ear. I want everyone to know that they don’t need to stay silent.

That’s all for now. Bye.

Leave a Reply

